+32 470 544 542

For immediate release 23 March 2017


In two days, it will be 60 years since representatives of six countries, gathered in Rome and signed the treaty that established the European Economic Community – which over time, developed and expanded into the current European Union (EU) of 28 countries.


With the EU project facing unprecedented criticism and existential threats, the aviation sector today wishes to remind people of the EU’s achievements within air transport.


The Single Aviation Market established by the EU during the 1990’s, removed regulatory and market barriers and created a fully integrated market for aviation, based on common rules across the EU and beyond. This has been instrumental in increasingly connectivity and prosperity – as it provided greater access to markets and lowered prices for air travel and air freight services.


In view of the important role and value that the Single Aviation Market plays in the economic development and social cohesion of the EU, stakeholders from across the entire spectrum of aviation today make this united declaration, with one exclusive purpose – to stand up for the European Union.


“As businesses and together with our employees, we cannot afford to lose the freedom, legal certainty, connectivity and prosperity enabled by the Single Aviation Market. We are mindful that these essential benefits are intrinsically linked to the wider political endeavours and dynamics of the EU.

This is why we are calling on Member States to preserve, reform and strengthen the EU.”


The nine associations behind this initiative represent the aerospace industry, airlines, airports, business aviation, helicopter operators, air navigation service providers and trade unions.


This declaration is today being sent to all EU-27* heads of government and transport ministers, as well as to the EU institutions. It is also published today in the European edition of weekly newspaper, POLITICO.



Notes to Editors  

*The countries are: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden